Jump to content
Cjay

Media Server Web Interface 'forgets' Show In Channel List = Favourites Only

Recommended Posts

Cjay

I notice that the check box on the DMS web interface under Configuration 'Show In Channel List' > 'Favourites Only' does not keep my preference (which is to only show favourites in the timeline). When I click save and then go back to timeline everything is fine: only my favourite channels show (and the drop down immediately under the DMS logo at top left only shows favourites in the list). However after some while (and I suspect this is to do with accessing the web interface in the meantime from other devices/browsers ) the preference ends up getting unchecked. When this happens the timeline is populated with every scanned channel and also the drop down shows every channel provider rather than just 'favourites'.

 

I had supposed that this 'favourites only' setting in configuration was a global setting, but it seems not to work the way I expected. Is there a simple way that I can make it retain my preference across multiple devices?

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Griga

 

41 minutes ago, Cjay said:

I notice that the check box on the DMS web interface under Configuration 'Show In Channel List' > 'Favourites Only' does not keep my preference

 

On 4/11/2017 at 5:35 PM, hackbart said:

Change: Desktop and Mobile Web Interface: The channel list filter options on the configuration page (Show TV / Radio / Favorites additionally / Favorites only / Channels without EPG) are now stored in a cookie, allowing different settings in different browsers / on different devices.

 

Make sure that cookies are allowed for the web interface.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Cjay
50 minutes ago, Griga said:

Make sure that cookies are allowed for the web interface

I don't have cookies blocked on any of my devices that access DMS web interface... I'm not really sure how to further debug this. Is there anyway I can verify the cookies are being stored/used correctly?

Share this post


Link to post
majstang

Google it depending on what browser you use. 

Share this post


Link to post
Griga

It may also be caused by private mode (cookies are deleted when the browser is closed) or using different types of URLs. The browser assignes separate sets of cookies to localhost and 127.0.0.1, for example.

 

The name of the cookie is chflags (bitwise coding used).

Share this post


Link to post
Cjay

Thank you both for your input. I can see the chflags cookie (tested in both Firefox& Edge) with a value of 27 - so cookies are functioning normally. The only thing I don't quite understand [but then I am a complete novice in these matters] is the short lifetime - see the image. In my mind this means a 10 day lifetime? As an experiment to see what happens after cookie expiry I changed the expires date/time to today, waited for the cookie expiry time to pass and then opened DMS web interface. Result: Exactly the problem I described! I may have gone off at a complete tangent here, but I'm curious to know why the lifetime is so short and whether there is some cookie refresh mechanism that is not working in my case?

 

image.png.0ed0d32c1bd9500c69e58e78b6f12a49.png

Share this post


Link to post
Griga

I'll check it.

 

On 6/10/2018 at 9:16 PM, Cjay said:

Is there a simple way that I can make it retain my preference across multiple devices?

 

You can specify the default settings on DMS Options (svcoptions.exe)  -> UPnP Media. They apply if the chflags cookie is missing.

Share this post


Link to post
Griga
10 hours ago, Cjay said:

In my mind this means a 10 day lifetime?

 

You are right. It should rather be 10 years. Will be corrected.

 

Share this post


Link to post
This thread is quite old. Please consider starting a new thread rather than reviving this one.

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...