Jump to content



RadLight Filter Manager v1.6


  • Please log in to reply
66 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_DAvenger_*

Guest_DAvenger_*
  • Guests

Posted 01 November 2003 - 13:34

This little tool allows you to change merit of DirectShow filters. We thought some people may find it useful. Should help fix some filter incompatibilty problems.

@Griga : Perhaps you could port it to DVBViewer native plugin? :jump:

Screenshot below

<Edit>

Download of the current version 1.6:

Executable

Delphi 7 Source Code

</Edit>

Attached Files

  • Attached File  rlfm.PNG   23.56KB   3252 downloads

Edited by Griga, 20 April 2008 - 21:01.


#2 Griga

Griga

    Board Inventar

  • Moderator
  • 23,643 posts

Posted 01 November 2003 - 15:20

Hey, what a great tool! I didn't test all the functions yet, but it's exactly what I always wanted to have. E.g. "Copy CSLID"... it's really hard to do without this tool (searching up and down the registry or copy it manually letter by letter from GraphEdit... :huh: )

Thanks to DAvenger and Radscorpion for providing it here! :jump:

Perhaps you could port it to DVBViewer native plugin?


Sure I could. If there was a function that can be enhanced by directly accessing the DVBViewer graph, it would make sense... but up to now I can't see such a function. However, as a stand-alone tool the filter manager can be easily integrated in the DVBViewer Plugins Menu by using the MenuCreator Plugin.

Griga

Attached Files



#3 Klausing

Klausing

    Board Inventar

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,807 posts

Posted 01 November 2003 - 16:03

realy nice tool, but i wish me to put in the Merit manually by number.
A look at the Merit's with Zoomplayer shows that there are Merits like 0x800000 0x71000 0x600005 0x400007 ... and not only standard values
For my Nvidia decoder i see in this tool the merit 0x0000000 But in Zoomplayer i see 0x800000 and 8000000 must be right because Nvidia is my prefered decoder in the system. You can see it in the picture.
I recommend to be really carefully with this tool. Maybe not every shown Merit is right !

Steffen

Attached Files



#4 RadScorpion

RadScorpion

    RadLight Head Programmer

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts

Posted 01 November 2003 - 17:32

According to what I've read from the DirectX SDK. Merit information is registered in HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{Category}\Instance\{FilterCLSID} : FilterData registry key. The fact is that all the stuff is indeed written there... but there is also a "second" copy of "the same" somewhere in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\blablabla. I've also noticed that the values stored in those 2 places sometimes differ :S:S.
The next thing is that changing the merit value in HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT had no effect :S:S... so I'm not completely sure which value is the right one.

#5 Guest_DAvenger_*

Guest_DAvenger_*
  • Guests

Posted 01 November 2003 - 17:56

Sure I could.


That would be great even though the difference between standalone and plugin would be minimal. I think the best way would be to pack & upload it as a "plugin" and provide some readme file how to use it with the MenuCreator plugin.

If there was a function that can be enhanced by directly accessing the DVBViewer graph, it would make sense... but up to now I can't see such a function.


If you open regular media within DVBViewer 2 kernel would actually switch to "media moduleset" thus RadLight's media playback module would be used - which is fully customizable and totally independent from merit system - in fact this tool will be redundant then :jump: For now it does the job.

#6 RadScorpion

RadScorpion

    RadLight Head Programmer

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts

Posted 01 November 2003 - 20:31

OKOK... Tool updated. There was a problem with too small buffer when loading FilterData from registry and some filters failed to load. Now everything should work fine.... the links are the same.

#7 Klausing

Klausing

    Board Inventar

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,807 posts

Posted 01 November 2003 - 20:39

Great and fast work !!! Now it works well.
But how can i put in a nonstandard Merit value ?

Steffen

#8 RadScorpion

RadScorpion

    RadLight Head Programmer

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts

Posted 01 November 2003 - 21:13

Why would you need a nonstandard value ?
Using nonstandard values results into conflicts and incompatibilities.
If everyone used standard values there would be no need for a Filter manager at all :jump:

#9 Griga

Griga

    Board Inventar

  • Moderator
  • 23,643 posts

Posted 01 November 2003 - 21:31

That would be great even though the difference between standalone and plugin would be minimal. I think the best way would be to pack & upload it as a "plugin" and provide some readme file how to use it with the MenuCreator plugin.


@DAvenger: I thought about it... it's better to have it as a stand alone tool, because filters should not be unregistered while they are running.

As a plugin it could *only* be launched within the DVBViewer, and then some of the filters shown in the list will be used for sure. It will be quite expensive to disable the Unregister Button especially for those filters... stand alone is much more flexible.

@Klausing & RadScorpion: Picking a merit values from a list is much easier for most people than typing hex numbers. Nevertheless the whole thing could be enhanced by providing an additional input line, that displays the selected value as a hex number and allows to edit it.

In the way it is done now it's not clear wether the selected merit is lower or higher than another one... you first have to go the About Tab to see which value belongs to which list entry.

Griga

#10 crypto

crypto

    Experienced Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 219 posts

Posted 02 November 2003 - 10:25

Many thanks for this cool tool. I really like the "Navigate" button, a complete new function which I never saw in any other tools.

BTW. I also think that non-standard merit values are needed some times. I have some applications, which do not work, when they do not find their filters automatically selected. This requires same tricky values.

#11 Guest_DAvenger_*

Guest_DAvenger_*
  • Guests

Posted 02 November 2003 - 15:16

@Griga :

Ok. Could you or somebody upload it to the members are? I am not sure if I have upload permission moreover I don't remember my pass :jump:

Also, the manual(s) could be updated so people with merit problems can address them quickly.

@Crypto

Well, I am against shooting merit values out of blue ... normal +1 / +255 and preferred +1 / +255 must be enough for everyone. Of course, the source is available so if you have time :huh:

#12 Griga

Griga

    Board Inventar

  • Moderator
  • 23,643 posts

Posted 02 November 2003 - 15:36

Could you or somebody upload it to the members are?


Done

Of course, the source is available so if you have time


I tried yesterday and encountered some difficulties - parts were missing. Finally I got it compiled, but all the displayed merit values were = 0. :jump: Has the source been updated too?

I'll post a more detailled report later.

Griga

#13 Guest_Oliver_*

Guest_Oliver_*
  • Guests

Posted 02 November 2003 - 20:26

Also, the manual(s) could be updated so people with merit problems can address them quickly.


Done.

Bye, Oliver

#14 Griga

Griga

    Board Inventar

  • Moderator
  • 23,643 posts

Posted 02 November 2003 - 23:55

OK, I made it somehow...

But first: When I open the project file FilterManager.dpr, I get two errors:

Error reading MainForm.ScreenSnap. Property ScreenSnap does not exist.
Error reading MainForm.SnapBuffer. Property SnapBuffer does not exist.


I tell Delphi (D6) to ignore it, and it doesn't seem to matter... I hope these non-existent properties are not important... :huh:

The zero merit values (see my posting above) were due to launching the filter manager in a restricted user account (stupid me :jump:). With admin rights it works.

Finally: The file WindowsXP.res is missing in the source (or is part of D7, don't know). Without this, the filter manager looks a bit old-fashioned (see attached picture).

So I added the Merit Input Line, and it (hopefully) works. If a merit is selected from the list, it is transferred to the input line and can be edited. Same, if a filter's merit is selected in the tree view. The Set Value Button picks the merit from the input line, not from the list.

If RadScorpion agrees, I will provide this version for download.

Griga

Attached Files



#15 Klausing

Klausing

    Board Inventar

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,807 posts

Posted 03 November 2003 - 08:17

If a merit is selected from the list, it is transferred to the input line and can be edited

Yes, but only if you click directly on the Merit value. This could be a little bit perplexing.
Is there a way to do this if i click on the filter name?

Steffen

#16 RadScorpion

RadScorpion

    RadLight Head Programmer

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts

Posted 03 November 2003 - 08:21

Yeah sure... good job. BTW. There is the WindowsXP.Res file you've been missing.
If you need any more files drop here a line...

P.S. : The code may look messy if you use the Tab-Character width of 8 spaces... I use 4.


: DAMN : I had to ZIP a 648 byte file :jump:

Attached Files



#17 Gioxy

Gioxy

    Community Creator

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,451 posts

Posted 03 November 2003 - 09:20

Great tool! B)
Well done! B)
Tank to all! :huh:

Some fast consideration:
- in win98 "Navigate" only lead to the dir where is located the filter... it's impossible to also select it? (...or maybe isn't so useful?)
- a botton that say "save filter hierarchy" would be useful :jump:
- I suggest also (to limit the damages to the beginners and absent-minded) a first auto save (for example in a .reg file) of the "original filter hierarchy"
- of course a "load filter hierarchy" button would be useful too... ;)

Gioxy

#18 Griga

Griga

    Board Inventar

  • Moderator
  • 23,643 posts

Posted 03 November 2003 - 09:39

Yes, but only if you click directly on the Merit value. This could be a little bit perplexing. Is there a way to do this if i click on the filter name?


@Klausing: Sure... I first did it this way. However, after some tests I didn't like it, because the merit value in the input line got changed too easily (and accidently). I think it's better to transfer a filters's merit only "on demand" to the input line... when you really want it.

I hope I'll find the time to upload the new version at noon.

Thanks again to RadScorpion for providing the source... and giving me an opportunity to learn from it.

Griga

#19 Klausing

Klausing

    Board Inventar

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,807 posts

Posted 03 November 2003 - 10:11

Ok, that's pursuable. On this way you dont have the possibility to change the wrong filter.

Steffen

#20 Guest_DAvenger_*

Guest_DAvenger_*
  • Guests

Posted 03 November 2003 - 10:23

Hi,

The first error is just a screen snap property ("sucking windows"). The second one is .res which will make app be XP aware - nothing to worry about (introduced with D7).

You should probably create some changes.txt or similar and give yourself some credits :P

Also, if you don't mind please, attach/provide links in the original thread in our forum : http://www.radlight....p?showtopic=355

EDIT : http://forum.doom9.o...&threadid=64298 :blush:

Thanks

Edited by DAvenger, 03 November 2003 - 10:39.


#21 Griga

Griga

    Board Inventar

  • Moderator
  • 23,643 posts

Posted 03 November 2003 - 12:07

Here it is - the binary with the Merit Input Line (version 1.2).

*** Warning ***: In contrast to RadScorpion's original version this version allows to enter and set non-standard merit values. If you are not familiar with the DirectShow settings or you don't know what filter merits are, please keep your hands off - you may disable all kinds of media playback on your computer!

There are some more feature requests... unfortunately my time will be very limited in the coming weeks. :P I'm no professional programmer and have to do my job. If there are requests that can be implemented easily I'll have a look at it. But bigger things... maybe someone else can take the source and do something useful with it.

Griga

Go down for an enhanced version... we had 511 downloads of the 1.2, that's enough :blush:

Attached Files


Edited by Griga, 08 November 2003 - 23:55.


#22 Griga

Griga

    Board Inventar

  • Moderator
  • 23,643 posts

Posted 03 November 2003 - 12:09

And here is the updated source (D6). All changes are marked with {***}.

Griga

Go down for the enhanced 1.3 source...

Attached Files


Edited by Griga, 08 November 2003 - 23:56.


#23 Guest_DAvenger_*

Guest_DAvenger_*
  • Guests

Posted 03 November 2003 - 12:17

Many thanks. Our time is also very limited - anyway, the core of this app is working fine and the rest of the requests are more user_interface oriented - should not be a problem even for a beginner - if there are any - it's never too late to begin :P

Of course, we'll try to implement some of them when the time shedule allows us to do so :blush:

#24 dimzon

dimzon

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 05 November 2003 - 13:30

Missing DirectShow.pas (D7)

Where can I get it?

#25 Griga

Griga

    Board Inventar

  • Moderator
  • 23,643 posts

Posted 05 November 2003 - 13:57

Try http://www.progdigy.com/dspack/.

Griga




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users