Plain Rcording Service pc

Delphi

My current setup is:

2 HTPCs.

3 FireDTV C/CI, 2 of wich recieves FTA channels only. The third recieves FTA + TV1000 (I have a subscription card).

Windows XP Pro on both HTPCs

Cabled home network.

I am planning to setup a third pc to serve the 2 HTPCs using Recording Service. That's all it should do. Well, I will have my fotos, music and videos on that pc as well.

Important to me is that power consumption is low. There is (at least) 2 ways to go:

1) A low spec one running 24/7.

2) Using "Go to sleep" policy.

Any advice would be much apreciated. Thanks in advance.

CPU : only recording and streaming (without transcoding) and serving webpages: 500 mhz CPU is enough.

RAM: at least 256 MB better 512+ MB.

HD: No limit here, the more the better :rotfl:;)

Important to me is that power consumption is low...
IMO to make a choice you have to consider mainly:

1) how well your cards/stick wake up correctly after a "standby" and after a "hibernation"

2) how many time your PC clients (ehm, read it: the human behind it) can wait the server starts to watch TV (FTA intended): if the server is in "hibernation" it can take ~15-40sec, if in "standby" less than 10sec, only a pair of sec if the server is already on... (I'm sure you already know the difference in power consumption between the different state)

3) how many time the server has (or is presumed) to stay on

4) how many time the server has (or is presumed) to power cicle

For me was: 1) ok and ok; 2) no hurry; 3) not so many time in a day; 4) =3; so, for my RS Server, my choice was Hibernation...

Other useful considerations:

- less RAM = less time to resume from hibernation

- HD can be joyfully setted to shutdown after 3 min of inactivity (is the Xp minimum, never had a problem with this)

- modern HD can have some interesting "green" additional functions (eg spin reduction, slower arm move, etc)

- video cards can eat a lot of power, a mobo integrated is a good "green" choice