NIT visible in analyse mode but not in scan selected

palinf

Hi,

I use Transedit 4.0.4.0 and I would like to understand the things.

I am pretty new to DVBC concept but what I understood so far is:

Some frequency carry NIT which can be use to set up/discover transponder information ( frequency (f) , symbol rate(sr) and modulation(mod) )

I understood Transedit can add transponder directly in the transponder list when NIT is found.

Q1: So far, am I correct ?

I set up the f, sr and mod according to my set-top box and did:

a. A scan (by pressing scan). The NIT indicator stay red.

b. An analysis (by pressing analyse). I clearly see a NIT and some transponder information. I did an analysis of those transponder and they carry channels.

Q2: Is this correct to suspect an underlying problem ?

Q3: Is there an easy way to extract transponder information from NIT and add them to the transponder list for future scan/analysis.

Thanks,

Q1: Yes, when using the update function or Settings -> Scanner -> Scan NIT and update transponders while scanning.

Q2: Yes. A red NIT field indcates that reading the NIT failed for some reason. Maybe the NIT timeout is too short (see Settings -> Scanner).

For checking other possible reasons I would need a sample. Launch the Analyzer, wait until all streams have appeared, right-click the PID list, click "Select Main SI PIDs" in the context menu, record them for a minute or so and upload the resulting TS file to some web space. To keep the file small you may want to unselect the EIT stream (by holding down the Ctrl key while clicking it) before you start recording because it is not necessary in this case.

Q3: Yes, it should happen automatically if scanning the NIT works as intended (see Q1).