How to scan Satellite Channels

Kiwi_Tim

Hi,

I've been using DVBViewer for many years now. I'm not that technically proficient with it, but I have enough skills to use it with DVB-T, DVB-S services and am using it with 4 different satellite dishes.Since the last two releases I don't seem to be able to scan for satellite transponders. In the earlier versions of DVBViewer you could manually select the hardware device, input individual transponder frequencies and SRs. There seemed to be lots of options to manually configure that seemed fairly straight forward and intuitive. Now, I am totally confused. Has someone created a step-by-step tutorial on how to do a channel scan? I am using Recording Service with DVBViewer and moved my config folder over from an earlier install. Everything works except doing satellite channel scans. I keep getting "no hardware", but viewing the existing satellite channels works fine, so obviously DVBViewer has no problem accessing the virtual tuners from the Recording Service.

Many thanks for your advice,

Tim

New Zealand

support.zip

Has someone created a step-by-step tutorial on how to do a channel scan?

Clicking the [?] button in the channel editor should direct you to the wiki page that has been updated lately.

P.S.

Everything works except doing satellite channel scans. I keep getting "no hardware"

None of your DVB-S network devices is configured for handling channel group A which is the default on the Channel Search page. So I guess you need to select the appropriate channel group for the satellite position / dish / hardware that you want to receive / use.

Edited by Griga